SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket aborts double-satellite launch at last minute

A veteran SpaceX rocket poised to make its 14th flight aborted a launch attempt on Thursday (Oct. 6) with less than one minute before liftoff.

The Falcon 9 rocket was slated to launch two communications payloads for Intelsat, the Galaxy 33 and Galaxy 34 satellites, when it initiated an automatic abort just 30 seconds before a planned liftoff from Cape Canaveral Space Force Station at 7:20 p.m. EDT (2320 GMT). SpaceX said it will make a second attempt to launch the mission on Friday (Oct. 7) at 7:06 p.m. EDT (2306 GMT).  You can watch the SpaceX launch live online, courtesy of SpaceX, starting about 15 minutes before liftoff.

Related: 8 ways that SpaceX has transformed spaceflight

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *